Soaring

“Every time a bell rings, an angel gets its wings.”

-It’s a Wonderful Life

My mama often repeats this quote. During the Arizona summers, our porch bells rattle, swaying with the strong monsoon winds. The chimes foreshadow what’s to come, yet I find their sound and echo comforting, peaceful, a reminder of home.

The handmade Soleri windbell, a true trademark of Arizona, seemed like the perfect host gift for Peppi.

Peppi loved the bell. While she unwrapped my gift, I carefully described its significance in broken Spanish. She smiled and nodded continuously in approval. Me encanta. Me encanta. The next day at dinner, I was pleasantly surprised to find the newest addition to Peppi’s den.

chimeEach day, I become more and more convinced that I’m living with an angel. A sound of home, half way across the world.

Life is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

