Welcome Home

I remember pulling away from Peppi’s house early Thursday morning. It was still dark. I piled my suitcases into the cab. I felt shaky with anticipation, anticipation of the end – the end of an era. As I gave Pep one final squeeze, tears flooded down my cheeks. Throughout my life, I’ve been known for my inability to keep little tears from forming in my tear ducts. Once I start, I can’t stop softly crying. Don’t forget about me. Don’t forget about me. Peppi kissed Sarah and I on the cheek and waved goodbye as our taxi pulled away from 37 Alonso Carillo.

I love the Logan I knew in Spain – independent, happy just because. I want to keep that mindset forever tucked in my back pocket. I’m back at school. Campus looks the same minus a few remodels, my house remains how I left it, and my friends are still here, but I’m different. It’s as if someone just awoke me up from a really, really good four-month long dream. I created a life in Sevilla. It was a temporary life, a life that I had to leave – but a great life. The person Sevilla created, however, remains.

Today marks the beginning of Blogging Log, U.S. edition. If I learned one thing from living so far away, it’s that you can always be close to yourself. There’s no room for a long distance relationship between me, myself, and I. Writing makes me confront reality, what’s in front of my face. It’s one thing to feel, and it’s another to document.

1390649_10151908769643350_1369983665_n

With this blog, I plan to keep the legacy of Spanish Logan alive.

Leave a Reply

